Six SEC Teams In Preseason Coaches Poll > SEC > NEWS….Sets Stage For Eighth BCS Champion in a Row

Six SEC Teams In Preseason Coaches Poll > SEC > NEWS.  Six SEC teams (Five in the top 10) are included in the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision Pre-Season Coaches poll preceding the approaching college football season.  The two-time defending champions, the Alabama Crimson Tide sit atop the poll, followed by the Georgia Bulldogs at #5, the Texas A&M Aggies at #6, the South Carolina Gamecocks at #7,  the Florida Gators at #10, and the LSU Tigers at #13.   The BCS National Champion has hailed from the Southeastern Conference for the past seven seasons.

The SEC has won seven BCS title games in a row and holds a (9-0) record in the title game.  has won SEVEN BCS title games in a row.

The Alabama Crimson Tide have won the national title for two straight seasons and for three out of the last four. (Auburn is not ranked, but won the title in 2010).  In the past seven seasons, the Tide has three titles, Florida has 2, Auburn has one and LSU has one.   The SEC has two other titles since the inception of the BCS Championship Game in 1998.  The Tennessee Volunteers won that very first title game in the Fiesta Bowl in Tempe, Arizona with a 23-16 victory over the Florida State Seminoles.  In 2003, the LSU Tigers took the big game with a 21-14 victory over Oklahoma in the Sugar Bowl in Miami.  There was controversy over who the champion was that year.  The Associated Press voted undefeated USC as their National Champion.  Perhaps it is poetic justice that the Southern California BCS title was vacated in the Reggie Bush scandal, because in the 2004 season, Auburn went undefeated yet never got a shot at the title game.  USC was crowned national champion with their 55-14 victory over Oklahoma in the BCS Title game.  That title was later vacated by the BCS on June 6, 2011 in response to NCAA sanctions against USC for the use of an ineligible player (Reggie Bush).  Even with Auburn not getting a shot at the title in 2004, (History bears out that indeed they should have.) the SEC has captured the national championship in nine out of fifteen seasons and is an incredible (9-0) in BCS Championship games. (Technically 9-1, because when Alabama defeated LSU, one SEC team won and one SEC team lost.) Indeed it makes sense to just go ahead and pencil in the best projected SEC team in at #1 at the beginning of the season.  Of course, after this season a playoff format will be used.  In 2014, four teams will be selected to compete for the national title.  The new postseason format will create two national semifinals to be played New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day, with the winners advancing. The six bowls in the playoff rotation will host marquee, BCS-type games on New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day during the seasons they do not host a semifinal.  It is the opinion of the editor of that the College Football playoff will have the same result in 2014 as it will in 2013:  with an SEC team claiming the bragging rights to number one again.

1998 National Champions

Tennessee 23  Florida State 16


2003 National Champions

LSU 21 Oklahoma 14


2006 National Champions

Florida 41 Ohio State 14


2007 National Champions

LSU 38 Ohio State 24


2008 National Champions

Florida 24 Oklahoma 14


2009 National Champions

Alabama 37 Texas 21


2010 National Champions

Auburn 22 Oregon 19


2011 National Champions

Alabama 21 LSU 0


2012 National Champions

Alabama 42 Notre Dame 14


(H/T:,, and

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s